The Verdict is In

I am losing weight. I am becoming healthier. I am working hard towards my goals.

Let’s talk about what happened yesterday.

What went right:
I had an amazing 1 hour cardio workout at the gym.
I lost 3 lbs (even though it’s not official weigh in day) and my boobs shrunk.
I drank plenty of water.

What went not so good:
I ate the cheese on my chicken at Applebee’s, even though I planned not to.
I ate 1/3 cup of mashed potatoes at 10pm after making them for PDub.
I didn’t take my vitamin.
I didn’t stretch well enough before or after my run/walk, so now I have sore knees.

How today will be better:
I will eat good, healthy food.
I will take my multivitamin.
I will once again have a great workout at the gym and hopefully walk the lake.
I will drink all my water.
I will account for the points I ate last night, even though I don’t want to.

I had a really good talk with my mom last night about health and exercise and our family. My dad died of congestive heart failure and diabetes almost four years ago. Since childhood, I always thought it would just be my fate because I had “bad genes.” Not true. I don’t believe anymore that just because three other generations died from the disease means I’m automatically doomed. I’m 25. I know that if I lose the weight I want to lose, cut back on my intake of red meat and fatty foods, I will be healthier than all three of those people combined. And I’m doing it. I’m on my way. I’m giving myself a chance to live.

4 Responses to “The Verdict is In”

  1. robfitness Says:

    Over all i would say that you had a very good day. None of us are perfect, except me. 🙂 Just kidding. What we do is learn from our errors and try not to let them happen again. You are working hard at it, I can tell. To recognize what you might have done wrong through out the day is a good step. Many people are in denial, as I once was of what I was doing wrong. I would always make excuses for not doing something that I know I should have.

    Your doing GREAT! you really are and as each day passes you are getting closer to your goals and closer to living and living your life in a healthy way.
    You are right! You are DOING IT and I am so proud of you for what you are doing to change your life. One that will be long, healthy and much happier. Keep it up….

  2. run4change Says:

    For me, not eating cheese that is directly in front of me is nearly impossible. i love cheese. I looks like you had a victorious day to me. Great job and keep up the good work

  3. sarahlovesfood Says:

    Thank you both for you encouragement and support. It’s so great to hear from the ones that are ahead of me in our journey or on the other end. Just Awesome. Thank you.

  4. AndrewE Says:

    Way to go. Stick with it and you’ll make it!

Leave a Reply

