Long Term Goals

Of course my goal is to be healthy physically, mentally, and spiritually. Last night I was thinking about specific long term goals. I need to have something there to go for, even if I don’t think about it all the time. I want to get down to 148. The top weight in my BMI is 160. I’m sure the only time I reached 148 was at a too-early age while my weight was swiftly climbing to where it is now. It will be interesting and exciting to see what I look like even when I hit Onederland.

My other goal is to run in the Portland Marathon in 2010. This gives me one year and nine months to prepare. If I keep at it, by that time I will have lost most if not all of the weight I want to lose and be prepared to run a marathon using Jeff Galloway’s training schedule. I never thought I could be a runner. I always dreamed of being one, but it seemed out of range for me, especially because I always just assumed I’d be fat forever. No more. I believe in myself now more than ever. I’m serious about losing this weight. So serious, in fact, that I told PDub about the Portland Marathon last night. He thought it was a great idea and he said he’s really proud of me for doing this.

I’m keeping at this, one day at a time, with one foot in front of the other. It’s a challenge, but I’m up for it. I finishing up breakfast, then it’s off to the gym for some walking/jogging and arm work.

Thanks for listening and thanks for your support.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Long Term Goals”

  1. run4change Says:

    Please keep in touch with me. I will certainly be doing the Portland Marathon in 2010 too. I want it to be my annual special running date. I would love to join you in the race, if you don’t like that, I would love to just say hi and congratulate you are the starting line. It is wild at the starting line Sarah. You would not believe the energy. Thousands of people, chatting away, some nervous, thousands of first time marathoners. It is beautiful.

  2. sarahlovesfood Says:

    Jason, we will definitely keep in touch. I’m really excited about the Marathon and about training for it. You’ve been a huge inspiration in my journey, and I would honored to be joined by you in the race. It’s funny- I talk about you to my husband (never had a weight problem), and he says “wow, you could do that too!” I AM DOING IT!! I’m excited. It will be a great time.

Leave a Reply

