An Introduction

So here I am, blogging again. How many “weight loss blogs” have I started? Oh, about a kajillion. Ok, so maybe 10. But seriously, enough already. I need to lose weight. More importantly, I want to. I’ve been overweight for the majority of my life, and I’m not getting any smaller. I joined Weight Watchers, which worked, but then I quit and I gained it all back, and then some. So now I’m refreshed. Yes, it’s a new year, but it’s also a new me. I feel like I have purpose now. I know I don’t have to lose 50 pounds in a day. I know that I will make mistakes, but I will learn from them. I know I will have good days and bad. But I have support from my wonderful husband and two of my besties that want to lose weight, too. We inspire eachother, and it helps keep me on track. Slowly, I’m easing in to the weight loss world again. Really, it’s the world of paying attention, being accountable, planning, and being realistic.

I know how to lose weight. I just didn’t really want to do it before. My father died of heart disease and complications from diabetes almost four years ago. When he died, he was 400 lbs. I realize some of this was water weight from his heart not working, but he was overweight most of his life, too. I don’t want to end up like him. The less I care, the bigger I get, and the closer I get to the end. I have a wonderful husband and best friend, and I would love to have a child someday. I know right now I’m too big to even think of having children. It would be dangerous for me to be pregnant and it would be dangerous for the baby. Besides, I don’t want my child to grow up the way I did, learning the ways of overeating and poor food choices.

If I ever hope to have the life I want, I need to start meaning it. I do mean it. I mean it today, and that’s what matters. Eating for me is definitely an addiction. One day at a time. Sometimes, one minute at a time. I can do that.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

